GFA Congress approves 18-team League, 3 to be relegated

The league returns on December 27

Congress have amended the Ghana Football Association statues which means the Ghana Premier League will have 18 teams competing for title henforceth whilst 3 teams will be relegated at the end of the season instead of 5.

It will be recalled that during the last Elective Congress, it was unanimously agreed that the 2019/2020 season should be expanded from 16 to 18 teams to among other reasons reinstate Accra Great Olympics and King Faisal into the elite division so that both of them can drop their legal battle with the GFA.

64 members voted in favour of the proposal which means both Olympics and King Faisal will play in the 2019/2020 league.

Per the agreement, 5 teams instead of 3 will be relegated before the league returns to its default format of 16 teams.

However, at the 25th Ordinary session of Congress held today, December 19 at the Ghanaman Soccer Centre of Excellence (GSCE), Prampram, Congress voted massively in favour of the decision to play an 18 club Ghana Premier League and 3 instead of 5 clubs will be relegated at the end of the season.


About Bizzy Gh

BizzyGh is one of the Leading News, Sports,Entertainment, Lifestyle and Gossip website today. BizzyGh delivers captivating and engaging entertainment, videos and More!

Check Also

Abalora dropped as CK Akonnor names Black Stars starting lineup for Ivory Coast friendly

The head coach for the senior national team, Charles Akonnor has named Black Stars starting …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :